Read Granny Reardun by Alan Garner Free Online

Ebook Granny Reardun by Alan Garner read! Book Title: Granny Reardun
Loaded: 2482 times
Reader ratings: 4.4
The author of the book: Alan Garner
Edition: Collins
Date of issue: 1978
ISBN: 0529055058
ISBN 13: 9780529055057
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 3.96 MB
City - Country: No data

Read full description of the books:

Granny Reardun is the second of Alan Garner's Stone Book quartet. The books tell the interlinked stories of a number of his ancestors. In this volume, we follow a decisive day in the life of young Joseph, a 'granny reardun', that is, a boy reared by his grandparents rather than his parents. We gather that his grandfather is the stonemason we first met in The Stone Book, but don't discover why his natural parents are absent. The book is the story of Joseph's last day at school, a day on which he decides to apprentice himself to the local smith rather than to his grandfather. Through this simple story, Garner weaves a subtle tale of wider social and technological change. Like The Stone Book, this is economically told in hard-edged, crystal clear prose, and beautifully illustrated with etchings by Michael Foreman.

Download Granny Reardun PDF Granny Reardun PDF
Download Granny Reardun ERUB Granny Reardun PDF
Download Granny Reardun DOC Granny Reardun PDF
Download Granny Reardun TXT Granny Reardun PDF

Read information about the author

Ebook Granny Reardun read Online! Alan Garner OBE (born 17 October 1934) is an English novelist who is best known for his children's fantasy novels and his retellings of traditional British folk tales. His work is firmly rooted in the landscape, history and folklore of his native county of Cheshire, North West England, being set in the region and making use of the native Cheshire dialect.

Born into a working-class family in Congleton, Cheshire, Garner grew up around the nearby town of Alderley Edge, and spent much of his youth in the wooded area known locally as 'The Edge', where he gained an early interest in the folklore of the region. Studying at Manchester Grammar School and then Oxford University, in 1957 he moved to the nearby village of Blackden, where he bought and renovated an Early Modern building known as Toad Hall. His first novel, The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, was published in 1960. A children's fantasy novel set on the Edge, it incorporated elements of local folklore in its plot and characters. Garner completed a sequel, The Moon of Gomrath (1963), but left the third book of the trilogy he had envisioned. Instead he produced a string of further fantasy novels, Elidor (1965), The Owl Service (1967) and Red Shift (1973).

Turning away from fantasy as a genre, Garner produced The Stone Book Quartet (1979), a series of four short novellas detailing a day in the life of four generations of his family. He also published a series of British folk tales which he had rewritten in a series of books entitled Alan Garner's Fairy Tales of Gold (1979), Alan Garner's Book of British Fairy Tales (1984) and A Bag of Moonshine (1986). In his subsequent novels, Strandloper (1996) and Thursbitch (2003), he continued writing tales revolving around Cheshire, although without the fantasy elements which had characterised his earlier work. In 2012, he finally published a third book in the Weirdstone trilogy.


Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.

Reviews of the Granny Reardun


This needs to be read to each


It was a surprisingly interesting book. Very highly recommended.


The most favorite book of all books


A book that leaves a whole bunch of emotions after reading

Add a comment

Download EBOOK Granny Reardun by Alan Garner Online free

PDF: granny-reardun.pdf Granny Reardun PDF
ERUB: granny-reardun.epub Granny Reardun ERUB
DOC: granny-reardun.doc Granny Reardun DOC
TXT: granny-reardun.txt Granny Reardun TXT